27th Beneteau Cup - 2018 round-up

With the wind in our sails and the champagne in our glasses, the conditions were perfect for the 27th annual Beneteau Cup on Sydney Harbour.

The newly renovated CYCA club house was the perfect spot to bookend the proceedings that started with a light breakfast and race briefing and ended with dinner, dancing and prizes galore.

All photography by Jennifer McKinnon.

Graham's Round Up

Graham's Round Up

Flagstaff’s Graham Raspass had this to say about the event:

“What a fantastic day’s sailing on Sydney Harbour for our Beneteau owners and crew. With winds, high teens or above, the Beneteaus revelled in the conditions.

Two races were completed in each division and while everyone was out to enjoy the day, there was definitely some intense racing on the water and the skippers showed real competitive spirit as they pushed their boats to the max.”


“The evening prize presentation took place in the newly renovated CYCA – a really great venue and a big thank you to our major sponsors Zettex, Slipstream Marine and Boat Transport plus our many prize donors for their support.”



Beneteau Cup Perpetual Trophy

Beneteau Cup Perpetual Trophy

Flagstaff is proud to announce that the winner of this year’s Beneteau Cup Perpetual Trophy is David Boekemann.

Each year this special trophy is awarded by the Flagstaff team to an owner who has been an ambassador for the Beneteau brand.

We select a sailor who has shown great commitment to the Beneteau brand and more importantly has made sailing and cruising a major part of their life.

David Boekemann, the owner of the new Oceanis 46.1 Bombolo, definitely lives the Beneteau spirit and is the deserving recipient of the perpetual Beneteau Cup for 2018.

Division A winners on handicap

Division A winners on handicap

  • 1st Loiseau, Oceanis 45, Robert and Marita Blaschka
  • 2nd Paname, Oceanis 45, Martin Davies
  • 3rd Antipodes, Oceanis 45, Greg Newton


  • 1st over the line race 1 and 2: Wilde Rush new FIRST Line Oceanis 51.1
  • 2nd over the line race 1 and 2: Bombolo new FIRST Line Oceanis 46.1
Division B winners on handicap

Division B winners on handicap

  • 1st Flying Circus, Oceanis 34, Craig Bolton
  • 2nd Elusive Spirit, First 305, Robert Swan
  • 3rd Elara, Oceanis 321, Steve Mullie and Eric Bangma


  • 1st over the line race 1: Freedom, new Oceanis 41.1P
  • 1st over the line race 2: Crystal Cutter, Oceanis 38.1
Thanks from the Flagstaff Team

Thanks from the Flagstaff Team

From the whole Flagstaff team, we’d like to say a big thank you to our wonderful sponsors and all the skippers and crew who came together for another fantastic Beneteau Cup.

We look forward to seeing you all again next year!

You can view the full results here and see all the photos from the day here. Thanks to Jennifer McKinnon for the photography.

Please also read more about luxury yacht and powerboat events.

Flagstaff - Sponsors